Fees For Selected Services
The State of California has determined some circumstances for which families may be required to pay a fee or share of cost for services received through the regional centers.
Family Cost Participation Program: In 2005, California implemented the FCPP program for parents of minor children who receive respite and day care services, requiring the family to share responsibility for purchasing those services.
You are required to participate in the Family Cost Participation Program, if:
- Your child is under 18 years of age, lives at home with parents, and is an active client of the regional center.
- If you have more than one minor child served by the regional center and affected by FCPP, your family will receive a reduction in your rate of cost participation for each child.
- Your child is not eligible for MediCal
- Your income is above a certain amount (at least 400% of federal poverty level, or greater. See link below).
After your percentage of cost participation is assessed (on a sliding scale based upon your family income), the regional center will make arrangements with the service provider for the portion of services for which the regional center is responsible under the state formula. Families will make arrangements and payments for your share of services directly with your service provider.
- State of California Website Family Cost Information Page
- Current State of California FCPP Program Guide and fee assessment schedule
- HRC informational booklet about Family Cost Participation
- Federal Poverty Levels for 2019 by household size. For more information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Federal Register Website: Annual Update of Federal Poverty Guidelines (updated online annually). Federal Poverty Guidelines(pdf).
Annual Family Program Fee: In July of 2011, legislators added section (WIC 4785) to the Lanterman Developmental Disabilties Act, estabishing the Annual Family Program Fee (AFPF) for families of minor children living at home.
Who Must Pay an Annual Fee?
- If your son or daughter is under 18 years of age and living at home, is an active client of the regional center AND receives a purchased service through the regional center other than assessment, respite, or day care, you may be assessed a $200 annual family program fee.
- The law requires the annual family program fee to be assessed each year on the anniversary date of the initial fee assessment.
- Each year when the family is assessed to determine eligibility for the fee, the family will have the opportunity to request an adjustment or exemption.
- Fees are paid to the state Department of Developmental Services (DDS) by check or money order. The regional center does not receive your fee payment.
- Read More: Family Guide to the Annual Family Program Fee; DDS Page Annual Family Program Fee
Federal Health and Human Services Federal Poverty Guidelines (families with a income verified to be below 400% of Federal Poverty Line are exempt from AFPF.
Parental Fee Program for minor children who live outside the family home: The State of California requires that parents of children under the age of 18 who live outside of the family home (in a licensed home funded by the regional center) and whose family meets the program income requirements shall be assessed for a monthly parental fee. Parents with annual income at or above 201% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) will be assessed a monthly fee calculated as a percentage of their annual gross income. Parents with annual income at or below 200% of the FPL will be assessed no fee. The fee schedule is periodically updated and has been updated as of July 2016.