Fees for Services

Fees for Services

Overview

The State of California has determined some circumstances for which families may be required to pay a fee or share of the cost for services received through the regional centers.

Family Cost Participation Program

The Family Cost Participation Program (FCPP) is established for the purpose of assessing a cost participation to parents of children who receive three specific regional center services: day care, respite, and/or camping.

The California Department of Developmental Services Family Cost Participation Program applies to families who meet the following criteria:

  • The child has a developmental disability or is eligible for services under the California Early Intervention Services Act.
  • The child is zero through 17 years of age.
  • The child lives in the parents’ home.
  • The child is not eligible for Medi-Cal.

Families with a income verified to be below 400% of Federal Poverty Line are exempt from FCPP.

If you have more than one minor child served by the regional center and affected by FCPP, your family will receive a reduction in your rate of cost participation for each child.

After your percentage of cost participation is assessed (on a sliding scale based upon your family income), the regional center will make arrangements with the service provider for the portion of services for which the regional center is responsible under the state formula. Families will make arrangements and payments for your share of services directly with your service provider.

More Resources

Annual Family Program Fee

In July of 2011, legislators added section (WIC 4785) to the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Act, establishing the Annual Family Program Fee (AFPF) for families of minor children living at home.

Who Must Pay an Annual Fee?

The California Department of Developmental Services Annual Family Program Fee applies to families who meet the following criteria: if your son or daughter is under 18 years of age and living at home, is an active client of the regional center AND receives a purchased service through the regional center other than assessment, respite, or daycare, you may be assessed a $200 annual family program fee.

Families with a income verified to be below 400% of Federal Poverty Line are exempt from AFPF

  • The law requires the annual family program fee to be assessed each year on the anniversary date of the initial fee assessment.
  • Each year when the family is assessed to determine eligibility for the fee, the family will have the opportunity to request an adjustment or exemption.
  • Fees are paid to the state Department of Developmental Services (DDS) by check or money order. The regional center does not receive your fee payment.

Read MoreFamily Guide to the Annual Family Program Fee

Parental Fee Program for minor children who live outside the family home

The State of California requires that parents of children under the age of 18 who live outside of the family home (in a licensed home funded by the regional center) and whose family meets the program income requirements shall be assessed for a monthly parental fee. Parents with annual income at or above 201% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) will be assessed a monthly fee calculated as a percentage of their annual gross income. Parents with annual income at or below 200% of the FPL will be assessed no fee. The fee schedule is periodically updated and has been updated as of July 2016.

Read More: Department of Developmental Services Parental Fee Program webpage